terewheat.blogg.se

Large advent speaker years
Large advent speaker years







large advent speaker years

He recessed the front baffle to provide sufficient space for large woofer excursions and projected the tweeter forward from the woofer mounting surface to minimize reflections from the front edge of the cabinet. In the OLA Henry chose a standard 12 inch basket frame because he wanted the woofer cone deeper than could be accommodated in a standard 10 inch frame, which required the use of the masonite ring spacer to the edge of the basket. The New Advent (NLA) and Advent/1 were completely my designs. On the models that followed, Henry continued to determine the drivers, and I did the voicing of the Smaller Advent, the Advent 2, and Advent 3. Henry designed the drivers, the unique woofer and tweeter, and I did the voicing of the speaker. I collaborated with Henry Kloss on the Original Large Advent (OLA). I would gobble up those Advents and get them fixed. They raved about triple Advents which I also tried, but my listening room couldn't handle all that greatness. I read about it in The Absolute Sound and they were right. They sounded much better than a single pair, almost like a different speaker. There was something about two pairs of Larger Advents that was a little magical. Double OLA's vs Single NLA's were no contest. One pair NLA's versus one pari OLA's I would give the NLA's the slight edge. They were a little more open than the OLA. In the sound department the NLA's had a more extended high end and a little more controlled bass. The NLA's were more modern looking, the OLA's were products of their times and kind of classic looking. The NLA's had a darker brown grill cloth and the wood frame around the grill cloth was a wood half-round. The OLA's had a light tan grill cloth with a wood moulded frame surrounding the grill cloth. I got to hear these speakers in the same room side by side. I do not regret any of my time with the Advents.įor those of you wondering the difference between the OLA's and the NLA's there were some noticeable differences. They served me until 2015 when I got my current speakers. They were too much for my relatively small listening room so the NLAs went out to the Living Room. I had double original Larger Advents until 1985 when I went to triples, adding a pair of NLA's. The OLA's were essentially about a 5 or 6 ohm load across most of their range. Luckily I had a monster Sansui 9090 receiver which had 110wRMS, but more importantly excelled at driving low impedance loads. Everyone wanted the newer model, but I asked and they still had a few OLA's. I managed to score the OLA's and at a good price. By then the newer model had come out and the appearance was different and the grill cloth was much darker. In 1978 I managed to grab second pair of original Larger Advents. My goal then was to have double Larger Advents. I started off with a pair of original Larger Advents in my sophomore year 1976. The West Coast Sound of Altec Lansing, Cerwin Vega and JBL all seemed too bright and over the top. I loved the East Coast Sound AR's, KLH and of course Advent. Larger Advents had been my dream speaker from high school on.









Large advent speaker years